http / https with ESP8266 | ESP8266 Wi-Fi Module | Forum

Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

sp_LogInOut Log In sp_Registration Register

Register | Lost password?
Advanced Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
http / https with ESP8266
No permission to create posts
February 10, 2015
6:42 am
Avatar
preseli
New Member
Members
Forum Posts: 2
Member Since:
February 10, 2015
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Hi there, I created a new ThingSpeak account and using various turotials, blog posts got my ESP8266 with nodemcu and lua scripts to log temperature using a DS18b20 sensor.

With my new thingspeak account if I push data using http from a web browser as follows:.

http://api.thingspeak.com/update?key=KEYCHANGEDFORSECURITY&field1=23.6

I get an error 0

If I use https I get the new record ID returned as follows

https://api.thingspeak.com/update?key=KEYCHANGEDFORSECURITY&field1=23.6

1160

I have tried our makerspace Thingspeak install and that works fine with http, but we do not have any plugins on our install - I guess that is a premium feature that needs to be paid for.

I can not figure how to send data using https from a lua script. Is there a library that I need? Or is there a magic way to tell ThingSpeak to accept http GET requests? Happy to pay for a premium account

Thank you

February 10, 2015
8:55 am
Avatar
lee

Admin
Forum Posts: 457
Member Since:
March 14, 2011
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Hi,

You should be able to update a channel via HTTP without any problems. Please make sure you are waiting at least 15 seconds between updates, or the "error 0" will be returned as the rate limiting is activated.

lee

February 11, 2015
9:09 am
Avatar
preseli
New Member
Members
Forum Posts: 2
Member Since:
February 10, 2015
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

thank you for your reply Lee.

I have just requested a new API key and tried again via the web browser address bar and it works using http.

I will program another ESP chip tonight and see if it works then. How frustrating.
your post encouraged me to try again.

Emyr

April 17, 2015
1:03 pm
Avatar
SoggyB
New Member
Members
Forum Posts: 1
Member Since:
April 17, 2015
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

lee said

Hi,

You should be able to update a channel via HTTP without any problems. Please make sure you are waiting at least 15 seconds between updates, or the "error 0" will be returned as the rate limiting is activated.

lee

I am getting a 301 redirect to an https url. I am unable to update via http. Is there a channel setting to allow http?

June 14, 2015
10:10 am
Avatar
AYAduino

Silver
Members
Forum Posts: 9
Member Since:
February 10, 2015
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

preseli said
....
With my new thingspeak account if I push data using http from a web browser as follows:.

http://api.thingspeak.com/update?key=KEYCHANGEDFORSECURITY&field1=23.6

I get an error 0

If it happens again, change "http://api.thingspeak.com...." to "http://thingspeak.com"

Brad

Forum Timezone: America/New_York

Most Users Ever Online: 114

Currently Online:
27 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)

Top Posters:

rw950431: 261

Vinod: 196

piajola: 85

turgo: 70

vespapierre: 63

Adarsh_Murthy: 62

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 1

Members: 5703

Moderators: 0

Admins: 2

Forum Stats:

Groups: 4

Forums: 17

Topics: 1313

Posts: 4565

Newest Members:

KeslarAboth, EnigmBioge, debbiepe18, MatthewmUb, cathrynww1, Slark

Administrators: Hans: 387, lee: 457