esp8266 can't connect to thinkspeak | ESP8266 Wi-Fi Module | Forum

Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

sp_LogInOut Log In sp_Registration Register

Register | Lost password?
Advanced Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
esp8266 can't connect to thinkspeak
No permission to create posts
February 9, 2017
1:23 pm
Avatar
abhishek123
New Member
Members
Forum Posts: 1
Member Since:
February 9, 2017
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

I am using this tutorial - [https://www.instructables.com/id/Flowmeter-NodeMcu-Counting-Litres/][1]
i am also using a same Node MCU ESP8266
i connected it to my home network the local ip address is also displayed but it doesn't connected to my thingspeak channel and it struck at the waiting for the client
i also check a my thingspeak API its correct and my home network is also working

Thanks in advance

February 10, 2017
11:28 am
Avatar
Vinod

MathWorks
Members
Forum Posts: 200
Member Since:
May 1, 2016
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

That sounds like a connectivity problem. Are you using a kind of WiFi security that the microcontroller cannot handle (WPA2 perhaps?) Maybe you can set up a WiFi that does not require authentication?

The first step in debugging this would be to see if you can reach the internet from your nodeMCU micro. 

February 26, 2017
12:06 pm
Avatar
herge
New Member
Members
Forum Posts: 2
Member Since:
February 26, 2017
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

hello,

I cannot send data to thingspeak with esp8266 (I had thingspeak library and added the apikey number in the arduino ide...) ; I get only on my serial monitor the following information :
Temperature: 23.00 degrees Celcius Humidity: 42.00% send to Thingspeak
Waiting...
Failed to read from DHT sensor!

but nothing is arriving into my channel

What could be the causes ? help

February 26, 2017
12:22 pm
Avatar
Vinod

MathWorks
Members
Forum Posts: 200
Member Since:
May 1, 2016
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

I'd recommend starting from something that works. Try this tutorial modified with your channel info:

http://nothans.com/measure-wi-fi-signal-levels-with-the-esp8266-and-thingspeak

Does this work?

February 27, 2017
3:54 pm
Avatar
kgd
New Member
Members
Forum Posts: 1
Member Since:
February 27, 2017
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

I have a very similar issue, I try the DHT sensor, and is taking measurements, and I check if it is connected to the network and it also is, the code get stocked in this line.(from this code source http://www.instructables.com/id/Send-sensor-data-DHT11-BMP180-to-ThingSpeak-with-a/?ALLSTEPS)

{

if (client.connect(thingSpeakAddress, 80))

{

I review that the variable thingSpeakAddress, has the correct address.

I'm trying to connect to my plant router, so I can't change the security type.I know my network is encrypted in WPA2-Personal with AES.

I also set up a webserver in the same network with no issues, I was able to connect to the esp from a different computer in the same network.

Hope you can help.

Have a nice day.

March 1, 2017
8:57 am
Avatar
JasonW

MathWorks
Members
Forum Posts: 28
Member Since:
October 21, 2016
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

kgd,

Does your plant router require additional authentication after connecting to the Wi-Fi?  Often times on an office or business network, there is a captive portal which will not allow any traffic through until a username/password is supplied.

If that is the case, then your device won't be able to connect to ThingSpeak.

March 1, 2017
3:52 pm
Avatar
herge
New Member
Members
Forum Posts: 2
Member Since:
February 26, 2017
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

I just tested the ESP8266 --> ThingSpeak Channel via MKR1000 Wi-Fi
 
 This sketch sends the Wi-Fi Signal Strength (RSSI) of an ESP8266 to a ThingSpeak
 channel using the ThingSpeak API (https://www.mathworks.com/help/thingspeak).

 

On my serial monitoe it is OK =

RSSI: -56
RSSI: -53
RSSI: -55
RSSI: -55
RSSI: -55
RSSI: -52
RSSI: -53

but I see nothing on my channel ; I selected RSSI in Field 1 ; METADATA=JSON ; and Showstatus + SAVE

Do I have missed something ? Thanks in advance

Forum Timezone: America/New_York

Most Users Ever Online: 114

Currently Online:
18 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)

Top Posters:

rw950431: 261

Vinod: 196

piajola: 85

turgo: 70

vespapierre: 63

Adarsh_Murthy: 62

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 1

Members: 5703

Moderators: 0

Admins: 2

Forum Stats:

Groups: 4

Forums: 17

Topics: 1313

Posts: 4565

Newest Members:

josephrj11, dennis55, jillhp4, tabathawg69, MarinaMa, Susandom

Administrators: Hans: 387, lee: 457