help with getting data from talkback app with the ESP8266 | ESP8266 Wi-Fi Module | Forum

Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?
sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
help with getting data from talkback app with the ESP8266
Avatar
waynebraganza

Silver
Forum Posts: 6
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
1
January 29, 2015 - 9:30 am
sp_Permalink sp_Print

hey guys needed little help with getting data back from "talk back" app using the esp8266 in serial terminal in windows...... may be im doin something wrong with the AT commands
this is what i tried doin manually in a serial terminal
---------------------------------------------------------------------
AT

OK
AT+CIPMODE=0

OK
AT+CIPMUX=1

OK
AT+CIPSTART=0,"TCP","api.thingspeak.com",80
0,CONNECT

OK
AT+CIPSEND=0,110
> GET https://api.thingspeak.com/talkbacks/1203/commands/execute?api_key=0OT6Y43XC6Y5YVJ9 HTTP/1.0
SEND OK
0,CLOSED

OK
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

i got commands cued but it just doesn't get any content back....... after a long time it says "0,CLOSED

OK"

im still trying to get this to work in serial terminal(to study it) before implementing it in a microcontroller....... any help will be useful.....

Avatar
Michel_J

Silver
Forum Posts: 13
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
2
February 8, 2015 - 10:49 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print

AT+CIPSEND=0,xxx

where xxx is the string lenght + 1

then you send:

GET /update?key=0OT6Y43XC6Y5YVJ9&field1=4

HTH

Avatar
rkgarg

Silver
Forum Posts: 8
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
3
February 21, 2015 - 9:58 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

I am also having trouble with executing callback api with esp8266 and arduino uno. I am getting error_auth_required error.

I think the issue is arduino trimming more than 64 chars for serial input.
is there way to shorten the url ( less than 64 chars).

Avatar
tongdeng
New Member
Forum Posts: 1
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
4
February 22, 2015 - 11:07 am
sp_Permalink sp_Print

hi,
I have the same problem as you tried almost everything but no luck, can however see a point on my channel graph if I use the Poster ad on from firefox.
Did you have success now or do you still struggle, hope somebody can help
regards
Koen

Avatar
waynebraganza

Silver
Forum Posts: 6
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
5
April 21, 2015 - 12:05 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print

still trying...... determined to make it work........ whats the point of only posting data from the esp module??? my goal was to make a cheap networked control system with many esp8266 modules putting commands and executing commands as doors open.etc...

will update when im successful ....

Avatar
waynebraganza

Silver
Forum Posts: 6
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
6
April 22, 2015 - 6:08 am
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

guys i have done it....... after playing around with the esp8266 as a TCP client and observing how my computer browser tries to execute a GET command i have tried to make the esp8266 imitate my computer browser and am successful with executing commands with the esp8266

im surprised that the esp8266 being so cheap has so little support and verry few people use it...

but anyways here is what i had to do to get it working

first of all i ditched using cipmux=1 as i dont need to start multiple connections for my application

so i directly start with
------------------------------------------

AT+CIPSTART="TCP","184.106.153.149",80

AT+CIPSEND="xx" (where "xx" is the length if the line below +1)

GET /talkbacks/1203/commands/execute?api_key=0OT6Y43XC6Y5YVJ9

------------------------------------------

and this is that i get back
------------------------------

+IPD,5:test4
OK
CLOSED

------------------------------
note :- "184.106.153.149" is the ip address of api.thingspeak.com u can use the url too but ip works fine for me as i had encountered dns error once so using ip address makes it more reliable in my case

and when u send "T+CIPSEND=" u dont need to specify the domain / ip again so that was my mistake....

hope this helps every 1 who is struggling with the same prob that i had
will be implementing this with a micro controller soon Laugh Smile

Forum Timezone: America/New_York

Most Users Ever Online: 114

Currently Online:
40 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)

Top Posters:

rw950431: 252

Vinod: 164

cstapels: 96

piajola: 75

vespapierre: 63

Adarsh_Murthy: 59

Newest Members:

ibgedubo

aogomaeqaza

ureomug

itixuwidouzuv

eilimir

memozupi

Forum Stats:

Groups: 4

Forums: 17

Topics: 1313

Posts: 4565

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 1

Members: 5703

Moderators: 0

Admins: 2

Administrators: Hans, lee