Data do not show in ThingSpeak | ESP8266 Wi-Fi Module | Forum

Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?
sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
Data do not show in ThingSpeak
Avatar
rberkelm

Silver
Forum Posts: 8
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
1
June 23, 2016 - 7:58 am
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi All

I in my earliest stages of trying to post data to my Thingspeak channel via an ESP8266. I have managed to successfully send data via my browser, but via my ESP does not seem to work. I have my ESP connected via a FTDI converter and am using Terminal V1.93b as a serial terminal program. The data I attempt to send seems to be successfully sent according to the Terminal program. However, when I check my thingspeak channel, there are no updates. I've been at this for 3 days and I've tried all sorts of permutations, incl the number of /r/n's at the end of the GET line. Now I am at a total loss. Can someone please help?

Log of terminal connection:

Terminal log file
Date: 23/06/2016 - 9:26:09 PM
-----------------------------------------------
AT+CIPSTART=1,"TCP","api.thingspeak.com",80

OK
Linked
AT+CIPSEND=1,52

> GET /update?api_key=27YZ7P1D60A7X1CH&field2=41

busy s...

SEND OK

OK
Unlink

-----------------------------------------------
Date: 23/06/2016 - 9:27:26 PM
End log file

Avatar
piajola

Gold
Forum Posts: 75
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
2
June 23, 2016 - 6:36 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi rberkelm,

Please read this post, my aswer is part 2.

http://community.thingspeak.com/forum/thingspeak-projects/esp8266-and-thingspeak

I use windows and termite (http://www.compuphase.com/software_termite.htm) but ANY RS232 terminal will do.

Please check AT+GMR because different AT versions have "different syntax". (In my case I must test in my Arduino program for the answer "ERROR" because with other version the test must be done against "Error" and the program fails. UPPERCASE ... lowercase)

ESP8266 -> Thingspeak works!

Hope this helps ... questions? Smile

Regards

Avatar
rberkelm

Silver
Forum Posts: 8
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
3
June 24, 2016 - 7:53 am
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Yeehah!! It worked - I am stoked! Piajol, you have made my day, thank you!

So, for the record, at the time of my original post I was running the default version of the AT firmware (008000901) with its 115200 baud rate. Later in the night I reflashed to AT firmware 008000902 (AI Thinker) with a baud rate of 9600 hoping I would do better. Unfortunately it made it even worse as I now could not even link to the ThingSpeak site with my syntax above.

However thanks to you I was successful with the following syntax and settings:

AT+GMR      '008000902.
AT+CWMODE=3  'ESP is both a station and a server
AT+CIPMODE=0
AT+CIPMUX=0   'Single channel
AT+CIPSTART="TCP","api.thingspeak.com",80
AT+CIPSEND=62
GET /update?api_key=27YZ7P1D60A7X1CH&field1=33.5&field2=65.5

To all first-timers like me, the ESP is incredibly sensitive to syntax variation between Firmware variations, so beware! Thanks again for setting me straight!

Ray

Avatar
piajola

Gold
Forum Posts: 75
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
4
June 24, 2016 - 2:47 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Hi Ray,

Glad you are in the game 😀

Any further help ... ask

Regards

H.S.

Forum Timezone: America/New_York

Most Users Ever Online: 114

Currently Online:
23 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)

Top Posters:

rw950431: 252

Vinod: 164

cstapels: 96

piajola: 75

vespapierre: 63

Adarsh_Murthy: 59

Newest Members:

candacele1

WilliamBer

roxieob18

Metawatch

ozayagw

ubabeutiti

Forum Stats:

Groups: 4

Forums: 17

Topics: 1313

Posts: 4565

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 1

Members: 5703

Moderators: 0

Admins: 2

Administrators: Hans, lee